Compare Countries By Credit Ratings

Credit Rating is an opinion of a credit rating agency about credit worthiness of a company or a government (sovereign or country credit rating).

This page provides information about credit ratings of European countries showing long-term foreign currency credit ratings for sovereign (or government) bonds as reported by the three major credit rating agencies: Fitch, Moody's and Standard & Poor's. Higher credit ratings of the government bonds means lower risks of investments into the bonds. Yields of bonds can also be used to estimate the investment risks: lower yields assumes lower risks. That is why yields of government bonds are provided together with the credit ratings.

Country Fitch Moody's S&P Government
Bond Yield[1]
 Norway AAA Aaa AAA n/a
 Netherlands AAA Aaa AAA 0.4%↑
 Luxembourg AAA Aaa AAA 0.4%↑
 Germany AAA Aaa AAA 0.3%↑
 Denmark AAA Aaa AAA 0.4%↑
 Sweden AAA Aaa AAA 0.6%↑
 Switzerland AAA Aaa AAA n/a
 Liechtenstein - - AAA n/a
 Finland AA+ Aa1 AA+ 0.5%↑
 Austria AA+ Aa1 AA+ 0.5%↑
 Isle of Man [2] - Aa1 AA+ n/a
 United Kingdom AA Aa1 AA 1.3%↑
 France AA Aa2 AA 0.8%↑
 Belgium AA Aa3 AA 0.6%↑
 Czech Republic A+ A1 AA- 0.5%↓
 Estonia A+ A1 AA- n/a
 Guernsey [2] - - AA- n/a
 Cayman Islands [2] - Aa3 - n/a
 Jersey [2] - - AA- n/a
 Bermuda [2] A+ A2 A+ n/a
 Slovakia A+ A2 A+ 1.0%↑
 Ireland A A3 A+ 0.8%↓
 Malta A A3 BBB+ 0.8%↓
 Latvia A- A3 A- 0.9%↑
 Poland A- A2 BBB+ 3.5%↑
 Lithuania A- A3 A- 0.3%no change
 Iceland BBB+ A3 BBB+ n/a
 Slovenia BBB+ Baa3 A 1.0%↑
 Curacao [3] - - A- n/a
 Spain BBB+ Baa2 BBB+ 1.4%↑
 Italy BBB+ Baa2 BBB- 1.9%↓
 Turks and Caicos Islands [2] - - BBB+ n/a
 San Marino BBB - - n/a
 Romania BBB- Baa3 BBB- 3.7%↑
 Bulgaria BBB- Baa2 BB+ 1.8%↓
 Andorra BBB - BBB- n/a
 Hungary BBB- Ba1 BB+ 3.3%↓
 Turkey BBB- Baa3 BB n/a
 Portugal BB+ Ba1 BB+ 3.7%↑
 Croatia BB Ba2 BB 3.0%↓
 Macedonia BB - BB- n/a
 Serbia BB- B1 BB- n/a
 Greece CCC Caa3 AA- 6.9%↓
 Cyprus B- B1 BB- 3.6%↑
 Montenegro - B1 B+ n/a
 Anguilla [2] - - - n/a
 Gibraltar [2] - - - n/a
 Monaco - - - n/a
 British Virgin Islands [2] - - - n/a
Table 1. List of European countries with credit ratings. Sources: Fitch, Moody's, Standard&Poor's.

[1] Long-term government bond yields. The data are provided by Eurostat. For all of the countries the data are given for December 2016.

[2]  Dependent territory of the United Kingdom.

[3]  Dependent territory of the Netherlands.

Share on Google+